OT: Electrical stuff

Its all WOK here.

Moderators: Duke, trewqh, korexus, Egbert

Duke

OT: Electrical stuff

Post by Duke » Tue Aug 19, 2003 8:06 am

I have done some electrical work on my own in my house. Some of it I dont think I am allowed to accordning to swedish law since I am not a licenced electrician but nevermind that.

The odds are quite good that at least one in WOK are skilled in these things so I have tried to find translations for the swedish terms of things. I apologize if something is wrong but if you know your stuff you should be able to figure out what I am reffering to.

What I want to know is if the connections I will explain below will work or if I will get a nice sum of 220 volts through my body when I am cooking up my sloppy joes on my new stove.

Here it goes:

I had one three-phase outlet with one ground cable and one zero cable in it. I wanted to make two one-phase outlets out of these cables.

I went to my central and re attached one of the phases to the zero plinth (direct translation from swedish, might be wrong) i.e. making it a zero cable.

I then had two phases, two zeros and one ground. I split the ground into two cables and ta da. I now had two of everything and being able to plug the wires into two separate outlets.

I used to have three 16A fuses on the single three-phase outlet. Now I have two one-phase outlets with a 16A fuse on each and one fuse that is disconnected since I stole that phase to make a zero out of.

Yes, they are both connected to the same ground wire but since that wire isnt a "active" wire I cant see the harm. If the ground will be needed due to some incident the fuse will blow either way and I will still have to check and probably switch that cable.

Someone with skills, please help me out here. I am too cheap to call a real electrician and I cant find anything on the net. :?
First one here, last one to leave.

gm_al
Creator
Creator

Post by gm_al » Tue Aug 19, 2003 8:25 am

LOL.