°° AMAZONAS (beta jungle) °° Bugs and suggestions

News, discussions and gossip around WOK SPECIES.

Moderators: trewqh, korexus

Post Reply
User avatar
gm_al
Creator
Creator
Posts: 1479
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 7:00 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

°° AMAZONAS (beta jungle) °° Bugs and suggestions

Post by gm_al » Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:04 am

Please post here if you have some suggestion or believe to have found a bug in WOK SP's beta jungle, AMAZONAS. We will get the bug spray out and laugh.... errrr, listen.... to your ideas. :P
Last edited by gm_al on Mon May 17, 2004 1:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Lowebb
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 348
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 7:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Lowebb » Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:09 pm

Don't know if this is a bug or not, maybe it updates after the game starts. I tried to changed my default settings to buy a skill point but it doesnt update at the bottom of my page, it remains on bank turns.

User avatar
Lowebb
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 348
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 7:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by Lowebb » Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:10 pm

And I am also getting a lot of runtime errors, is anyone else?

User avatar
korexus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2819
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 8:00 am
Location: Reading
Contact:

Post by korexus » Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:54 pm

Lowebb wrote:And I am also getting a lot of runtime errors, is anyone else?


They're Strider's fault. We're working on it! :P


korexus.
With Great Power comes Great Irritability

User avatar
Mullog
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 7:00 am
Location: Aalesund, Norway (freezing!). Member of the Vulkings

Post by Mullog » Sun Mar 21, 2004 12:50 am

These are just the kind of bugs we need to know about!
The bug has now been fixed, it was a problem with an unusable players name. You are now only allowed names with characters, numbers and _ or - in it.
While at it, I fixed a minor bug where the Continiue Orders behaviour would not be checked if you selected it.

Keep the bugs coming! :P



Mullog
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.
- Whatever is said in Latin sounds profound.

User avatar
Egbert
Commander
Commander
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 7:00 am
Location: The Scholars' Library (dusty section)
Contact:

Post by Egbert » Sun Mar 21, 2004 4:34 am

Well, the game hasn't started yet, but I have entered a number of orders "in advance" (I have no idea what the orders are going to do, of course). However, to enter all of these orders, I had to keep clicking the enter button, which took me to a confirmation page, which took me back to the original page, which I then had to scroll down to enter another order. How tiring and inconvenient! :P Wouldn't it be better to have something like an AOF, where you can just enter all your orders on 1 page?


P.S. - To paraphrase Inspector Clouseau, "I am the white minkey!" :shakin::
(hey, is there a "pink panther" species?)
"Fairy tales can come true,
They can happen to you,
If you're young at heart."

User avatar
gm_al
Creator
Creator
Posts: 1479
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 7:00 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by gm_al » Sun Mar 21, 2004 8:51 am

Hmmm Eg, actually you will need to have everything on one screen to be able to really judge about what orders to put in the OQ.

The confirmation is necessary, to make sure everything went fine. Scrolling down shouldnt be too inconvenient, at least less then having to use two different pages at once.

User avatar
Saladin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 7:00 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Saladin » Sun Mar 21, 2004 4:05 pm

I do agree with Eg though...imagine having to put in 100 orders that way because you're going to be away 1 day. :? I'm sure Mullog can come up with an easier way, right? :D
Last edited by Saladin on Sun Mar 21, 2004 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Never attribute to malice what can satisfactorily be explained away by stupidity."

"To speak ill of others is a dishonest way of praising ourselves."

User avatar
Saladin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 7:00 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Saladin » Sun Mar 21, 2004 4:07 pm

Maybe this is already possible, but i couldn't find it.

Is it possible to change my password to something i can actually remember? :D

Thanks guys. :D
"Never attribute to malice what can satisfactorily be explained away by stupidity."

"To speak ill of others is a dishonest way of praising ourselves."

User avatar
Dameon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1056
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 7:00 am
Location: Valn Ohtar Chapterhouse

Post by Dameon » Sun Mar 21, 2004 4:10 pm

Well there's always the "default action", which lets your species do things even when you can't give it orders in advance. One of those actions is to "bank turns", which would allow you to USE however many turns you banked when you did have time to come back. The default option for that is 20 turns, but I think it might go up with certain attributes, kinda like your order queue would. And even if you run out of turns to bank, your species can still acquire skill points by default- since you generally need a lot of skill points to buy anything, that's not a bad thing either.

I do think folks who logged on more often would have a slight edge simply from being able to issue new orders depending on developing events, but the Species development team have done an admirable job in trying to allow players who cannot sign on frequently to keep up, as it were. I do agree with Saladin that having an option to change one's PW would be nice, depending on how feasible that would be.
"A Knight is sworn to valor, his heart knows only virtue, his blade defends the helpless, his might upholds the weak, his word speaks only truth, his wrath outdoes the wicked."

User avatar
Donut
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 7:00 am
Location: Brew Town, WI; USA - BoV
Contact:

Post by Donut » Sun Mar 21, 2004 4:41 pm

I guess this isn't really a problem yet but I think I can forsee one.

The turns are run every 15min? That's almost 100 turns a day. To me that seems extremely high. You can only bank 30 orders, you can only store 20 orders. Those who sign on at least 3 times a day will have a large advantage, at least early in the game, over those who sign on once or twice.

I'm probably wrong in assuming that there are 96 turns in a day, but I have read otherwise anywhere......

Donut
The scars remind us that the past is real.

User avatar
Mullog
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 7:00 am
Location: Aalesund, Norway (freezing!). Member of the Vulkings

Post by Mullog » Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:12 pm

Saladin wrote:Maybe this is already possible, but i couldn't find it.

Is it possible to change my password to something i can actually remember? :D

Thanks guys. :D



Not yet, but it is coming soon... :roll:
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.
- Whatever is said in Latin sounds profound.

User avatar
Mullog
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 7:00 am
Location: Aalesund, Norway (freezing!). Member of the Vulkings

Post by Mullog » Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:20 pm

Donut wrote:I guess this isn't really a problem yet but I think I can forsee one.

The turns are run every 15min? That's almost 100 turns a day. To me that seems extremely high. You can only bank 30 orders, you can only store 20 orders. Those who sign on at least 3 times a day will have a large advantage, at least early in the game, over those who sign on once or twice.

I'm probably wrong in assuming that there are 96 turns in a day, but I have read otherwise anywhere......

Donut


Simple math reveals that there are 96 turns each day. If that gives those that log on often a big advantage remains to be seen...
Remember that you can setup an order queue. Some orders are completed in one turn while others take a long time to complete, so it is possible to plan some time ahead. Possibly an entire day.
How this works out, is one of the things we will see during the beta...


Mullog
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.
- Whatever is said in Latin sounds profound.

User avatar
korexus
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2819
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 8:00 am
Location: Reading
Contact:

Post by korexus » Sun Mar 21, 2004 6:29 pm

Moving can be up to 15 turns so 30 movement orders could be 450 turns ie a bit over 4 and a half days which you could bank if you liked. I'm not suggesting that that's a good plan though! :p


korexus.
With Great Power comes Great Irritability

User avatar
Lardmaster
Commander
Commander
Posts: 689
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 8:00 am
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Lardmaster » Sun Mar 21, 2004 9:06 pm

I seem to have 2 species, thought I wasn't able to but I have white yetis and yellow rats.
Question everything.

User avatar
Xarfei
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:00 am
Location: Munich, Germany - The Scholars

Post by Xarfei » Mon Mar 22, 2004 12:06 am

It says on the screen that I takes 1 turn to buy 1 skill point.
But I had two turns (the first and the 15th) where I managed to get 3 skill points in just one turn. Just wondering whether that is supposed to happen.

User avatar
Strider
Trooper
Trooper
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 7:00 am
Location: West Side!

Post by Strider » Mon Mar 22, 2004 1:36 am

I really need to remember to log in before I post......

BTW, we're definitely stuck on Turn #15.
Never laugh at live dragons...

User avatar
Xarfei
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:00 am
Location: Munich, Germany - The Scholars

Post by Xarfei » Mon Mar 22, 2004 3:07 am

Yeah, Korexus said that Mullog had to change something, the reset the turn to 15 and "went to bed", leaving the game constantly running turn 15.

This also explaines why I managed to get more than one skill point in one turn.

User avatar
Mullog
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 7:00 am
Location: Aalesund, Norway (freezing!). Member of the Vulkings

Post by Mullog » Mon Mar 22, 2004 7:34 am

Good morninig Kaomaris!

While I was waiting for Nora (my avatar) to wake up, I made the order submission procedure more robust. It turned out that it was possible to enter partial orders (like MOVE ... without a direction), and these made the game engine crash... So, I changed the offending order (only one), made the proecure more robust (added an "invalid order" message) and ran the missing turns. We are now at turn #46, and the turns run automagically again!

The turn log may look strange for some turns, for there was a problem with turns not being completes sucessfully. Some of you will have had several turns run as one...


Mullog
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.
- Whatever is said in Latin sounds profound.

Post Reply